inspired recommendations from independent booksellers

Independent booksellers recommend... 

The End We Start From

Author : Megan Hunter

 

IndieBound Staff

For fans of Cormac McCarthy’s The Road, Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale and Dept. of Speculation by Jenny Offill, this debut novel is the perfect dystopian read (especially for those of us who’ve been watching a certain TV adaptation about handmaids). The End We Start From is compact – at just 140 pages, and taking place during a mysterious environmental crisis, where a flood spreads chaos throughout England. With the country drowning, a mother gives birth to her first child as she and her family move from place to place in search of safety. Written in sparse fragments with stunning imagery, it was a read-in-one-sitting sort of book highlighting what it means to be a mother, especially when your world has been turned upside down by tragedy. - Kara, IndieBound