IBW Book Award

The Independent Bookshop Week Book Award 2017 shortlists



  • The Noise of TimeJulian Barnes

    Days Without End Sebastian Barry

    Homo Deus: A Brief History of Tomorrow - Yuval Noah Harari

    When Breath Becomes Air - Paul Kalanithi

    This Must Be The Place - Maggie O'Farrell

    The Essex Serpent - Sarah Perry
    The Good Immigrant - edited by Nikesh Shukla

    Golden Hill - Frances Spufford

    The Running Hare: The Secret Life of Farmland - John Lewis-Stempel

    The Gustav Sonata - Rose Tremain


The One Memory of Flora Banks - Emily Barr
Sputnik's Guide to Life on Earth - Frank Cottrell Boyce
Cogheart - Peter Bunzl
Strange Star - Emma Carroll

The Shadow Keeper - Abi Elphinstone

A Poem for Every Night of the Year - Allie Esiri
The Bone Sparrow - Zana Fraillon
How Not to Disappear - Clare Furniss
The 78-Storey Treehouse - Andy Griffiths; illustrated by Terry Denton

The Wolf Wilder - Katherine Rundell

Saint Death - Marcus Sedgwick

The Painted Dragon - Katherine Woodfine



Odd Dog Out - Rob Biddulph
The Storm Whale in Winter - Benji Davies
The Detective Dog - Julia Donaldson & Sara Ogilvie
The Covers of My Book Are Too Far Apart! - Vivian French; illustrated by Nigel Baines
Oi Dog! - Kes Gray and Claire Gray; illustrated by Jim Field
Tidy - Emily Gravett
The Darkest Dark - Chris Hadfield; illustrated by The Fan Brothers
Are You Sitting Comfortably? - Leigh Hodgkinson
Fantastically Great Women Who Changed The World - Kate Pankhurst
There's a Tiger in the Garden - Lizzy Stewart
Bee: Nature’s Tiny Miracle - Britta Teckentrup
A Beginner's Guide to Bear Spotting - Michelle Robinson; illustrated by David Roberts


The IBW 2017 judging panel will be chaired by BA President, Rosamund de la Hey.  The Adult Category judges are Anna James, blogger, author and reviewer; Tim O’Kelly, One Tree Books, Petersfield; Fleur Sinclair, Sevenoaks Bookshop and Robert Penn, author, photographer and broadcaster.  The Children’s and Picture Book Category judges are David Litchfield, author of The Bear & The Piano; Alex Strick, diversity in children’s books campaigner and head of Inclusive Minds; Sanchita Basu de Sarka, Children’s Bookshop, Muswell Hill and Victoria Rossiter, Rossiter’s Bookshop, Monmouth & Ross on Wye.
The winners of each category will be announced on Friday 23rd June, the day before the start of this year’s IBW.


Adult category:
2016: The Green Road by Anne Enright 
2015: The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters 
2014: Life After Life by Kate Atkinson
2013: A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki
2012: Why Be Happy When you Could be Normal? by Jeanette Winterson
2011: The Hare with Amber Eyes by Edmund de Waal
2010: Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel
2009: The Secret Scripture by Sebastian Barry
2008: Notes from an Exhibition by Patrick Gale
2007: Suite Francaise by Irene Nemirovsky

Children’s Fiction category:
2016: Pugs of the Frozen North by Philip Reeve and Sarah McIntyre
2015: An Island of Our Own by Sally Nicholls 
2014: Flora & Ulysses by Kate Di Camillo, illustrated by K.G. Campbell
2013: Wonder by RJ Palacio
2012: One Dog and His Boy by Eva Ibbotson
2011: Artemis Fowl and the Atlantis Complex by Eoin Colfer
2010: Running Wild by Michael Morpurgo
2009: Artemis Fowl and the Time Paradox by Eoin Colfer
2008: The Sleepwalker by Robert Muchamore
2007: Alone on a Wide, Wide Sea by Michael Morpurgo

Children’s Picture Book category:
2016: Stanley the Amazing Knitting Cat by Emily MacKenzie
2015: A Walk in Paris by Salvatore Rubbino
2014: A First Book of Nature by Nicola Davies, illustrated by Mark Hearld